Fennesz - Venice (10th Anniversary Edition) [vinyl 2LP]

  • Add feedback:
  • Manufacturer: Touch
  • Availability: None / available to order
  • pcs.
  • Net Price: 72.36 zł 89.00 zł
Premiera: 20.10.2014, już można zamawiać.
***10th Anniversary Gatefold 2LP Edition, first time on vinyl - contains bonus tracks***

Artwork and photography by Jon Wozencroft Cut by Jason at Transition Featuring David Sylvian and Burkhard Stangl Special 10th anniversary edition

"Venice", the fourth studio album by Christain Fennesz, finds electronic music at a crossroads between its early status as digital subculture, and the feeling that there has to be something more, an emotional quality that rises above noise and moves towards melody and rapture. It was voted No. 3 in The Top 50, The Wire, December 2004, was album of the week at BBCi on its release and remains Christian Fennesz's best-selling record to date. prefix (USA) noted: "Although Fennesz's breakout record Endless Summer was followed by a live release and a collaboration with Jim O'Rourke and Peter Rehberg as Fenn O'Berg, Venice is the true heir to that album's ascendant pop. Venice is not as unabashedly poppy as its predecessor (the lack of Beach Boys references can attest to that), but still mines much the same vein. It was marked by critics at the time as a move away from the relatively robotic music spawned by the IDM craze of the late nineties. Instead, its melodic, emotive tracks foresaw an electronic music that could be purely human." Pitchfork Media (USA), in a lengthy review, also noted: "Venice's quality extends beyond its sound. Touch proprietor Jon Wozencroft-- through his breathtaking design and photography - continues to fight the good fight against records-as-pure-data by making the CD a value-added prospect." and The Declaration Online (Web): "Two blue empty row boats left listless on rippling water. Red orange green riverbed foliage reflected in the water's gauzy oil slick surface. An airport enveloped in dull gray stratus and snow. Upon seeing the photography and packaging accompanying Christian Fennesz's latest recording, Venice, it is clear that the record label Touch remains intent on not simply putting out records but creating audiovisual imprints dedicated to inextricably tying sound and vision."


1 The Future Will Be Different [clip]
2 Rivers of Sand [clip]
3 Chateau Rouge [clip]
4 City of Light [clip]
5 Onsra [clip]
6 Circassian (feat. Burkhard Stangl) [clip]
7 Onsay [clip]
8 The Other Face [clip]
9 Transit (feat. David Sylvian) [clip]
10 The Point of It All [clip]
11 Laguna [clip]
12 Asusu [clip]
13 The Stone of Impermanence [clip]
14 Tree [clip]