Dub Spencer & Trance Hill VS Umberto Echo - Too Big Too Fail

  • szt.
  • Cena netto: 31,71 zł 59,00 zł 39,00 zł
Kowboje ze Szwajcarii powracają z nowym materiałem! Rola Indianina przypadła zaś specowi od remiksów, Umberto Echo (patrz album "Dub The World"). Brzmienie grupy grającej dub na żywo jest rozpoznawalne od debiutanckiej płyty "Nitro": spaghetti western i skrzynka dynamitu w jednym. Po kolejnym albumie "Return of the Supercops" z autorskimi utworami, przyszedł czas na dub-covery znanych kompozycji jak "Jeanny" (Falco), "Smoke On The Water" (Deep Purple), "Echo Beach" (Martha and the Muffins) czy "Enter Sandman" (Metallica) i "London Calling" (The Clash), a nawet temat z filmu "Pewnego razu na Dzikim Zachodzie"  Ennio Morricone. Potem ukazał się album "The Clashification of Dub" z coverami tylko The Clash. Teraz panowie z rasta-lassem powrócili do komponowania własnych utworów. Jest ciepło, rozciągliwie i do przodu!

Dub Spencer & Trance Hill, Switzerland's dub heroes have teamed up on this new project with Umberto Echo, one of the most sought-after dub remixers this side of the English Channel.

Five years ago Dub Spencer & Trance Hill released their Echo-Beach debut "Nitro", a sort of spaghetti western in dub with plenty of dynamite. Since then, the Swiss musicians have added three further notches to their list of releases - "Return of the Supercops", "Riding Strange Horses" and, most recently, "The Clashification of Dub" - as well as several echo-laden cover versions of classic party hits such as "Jeanny" or "Enter Sandman" and canonised songs like "London Calling", earning them kudos all over the country and setting feet tapping. Little wonder that the band - who are amazing live performers- are almost constantly on tour.

On their last European tour, the dubsters cooperated with the Munich-based mix master Umberto Echo, whose illustrious profile spans several pages. For his debut album DubTrain the jazz label enja (Chet Baker, Abdullah Ibrahim, Rabih Abu-Khalil) set up a special sub-label, enja19. Last year Echo Beach released the album "Dub The World", which featured his distinctive, ultra-precise dub take on tunes by Sly & Robbie, Seeed, Damian Marley, Stereo MC's and Gentleman.

At their joint club and festival performances the combination of live band and live mixer turned out to be the proverbial "marriage made in heaven". On the decks, Umberto Echo transformed Dub Spencer & Trance Hill's riddims and melodies into thrilling, transcendental sound collages. The vibe was so good that they decided to hit the studio for a joint session after the tour: founding member Marcel Stalder (bass) and his bandmates Julian Dillier (drums), Philipp Greter (keyboards) and Markus Meier (guitar) met up with Umberto Echo at his studio, plugged in and let rip .... And here are the results. It is no exaggeration to say that this meeting of minds is for continental Europe what "Scientist meets Roots Radics" was for Jamaica and "Massive Attack vs Mad Professor" was for England: an alliance too big to fail.


01. A Fistful Of Dub
02. Rasta Pasta
03. Lytchee
04. Golden Parachute
05. Smoke In Missouri
06. Too Big To Fail
07. Im Western nichts Neues
08. Woodpecker
09. 24h Race
10. Dub App
11. Step Beyond The Huggel
12. Rice And Beans
13. Introverted Monster
14. The World Is Dub Enough