V/A - Wall Of Sound - Drones, Patterns, Noises (by Ulrich Krieger) 3CD

  • szt.
  • Net Price: EUR 15.29 EUR 18.81

Walls of Sounds is a music of sonic sensations. It is a physical and sensual approach to the phenomenon of thick sound worlds. Sound waves become physical objects, four-dimensional sonic sculptures to be experienced, bodily and mentally.

Walls of Sounds is a series of CDs about music that invites the listener to indulge themselves in sound. It doesn't guide an audience through a narrative-like a song-, but offers the listener slow changing and developing soundscapes, acoustic sculptures, to immerse themselves in.
How listeners moves in and through these sounds is up to them: meditative drifting along, focusing on certain small details of sounds, letting themselves be taken away by emerging psycho-acoustic phenomena or going back and forth between listening attitudes.

Ulrich Krieger
is well known as a saxophone player in contemporary composed and free improvised music as well as a composer of chamber music and electronic music.
His recent focus lies in the experimental fields and fringes of contemporary Pop culture: somewhere in the limbo between Noise and Heavy Metal, Ambient and Silence.
He also arranged works by Merzbow, Throbbing Gristle, Deicide, Terry Riley, Henry Cowell and others for chamber ensemble. He collaborates with: Lou Reed, LaMonte Young, Phill Niblock, Text of Light, Lee Ranaldo, Phill Niblock, John Duncan, Zbigniew Karkowski, Merzbow, Thomas Köner, DJ Olive, Christian Marclay, Kasper T Toeplitz, Antoine Beuger, Radu Malfatti, Mario Bertoncini, Michiko Hirayama, Miriam Marbe, Hans-Joachim Hespos, Ensemble Modern, Berliner Philharmoniker, Soldier String Quartet, zeitkratzer, just to name a few.
Krieger has received prizes, grants and residencies from: Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg, Villa Aurora Los Angeles, Deutsches Studienzentrum Venedig e.V.,  Akademie der Künste Berlin, 'Meet-the-Composer' Forum New York, DAAD, Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik, and many others.
Since 2007 he lives in Southern California, where he is associate professor for the composition faculty at the California Institute of the Arts in Los Angeles.

track listing 3CD
01 Abscission One (7'27)

CD1 Drones

01 James Tenney Saxony 1978
02 John Cage Four5 1991
03 Alvin Lucier In Memoriam Jon Higgins 1989
04 Phill Niblock Didjeridoos and Don'ts 1992

CD2 Patterns

05 Philip Glass Music in Fifths 1968
06 Steve Reich Pendulum Music 1969
07 Terry Riley Dorian Reed 1964
08 Philip Glass 1+1 1968
09 STEVE REICH Reed Phase 1967

CD3 Noises

10 Lee Ranaldo Elegy for WTC 2001
11 Boris Hegenbart u-getriebe 1998
12 Zbigniew Karkowski Execution of Intelligence 2003
13 Ulrich Krieger Give me some feedback 1991/2015
14 John Duncan Channel Zone 2001