Alexander Hacke & Danielle de Piciotto - The Current

  • Add feedback:
  • Manufacturer: Potomak
  • Availability: Available
  • szt.
  • Net Price: EUR 10.98 EUR 13.50
Premiera: 31.01.2020

“The Current” is the fourth album hackedepicciotto have recorded since becoming nomads in 2010. It is their most powerful album yet. After composing desert drones for their previous album “Perseverantia “ and dark foreboding melodies for “Menetekel”, their new album moves forwards, gaining in speed and energy. Alexander Hackes background with Einstürzende Neubauten can be felt in the many rhythmic tracks. “We had the urge to include more percussive elements and electronic sounds to create a powerful rhythmic feel. A wilder and more danceable element. Something to get all of us on our feet, and moving. Away from depression and hopelessness.” The classic background of Danielle de Picciotto has become more prominent as well. Glorious choirs and violin harmonies flow throughout the album giving it an almost symphonic sound.
The artist couple calls their music “cinematic-drone” and their album sounds like the film track to an apocalyptic feature-length film, hopefully with a happy end.

Defiance 3:57
Onwards 4:00
Metal Hell 5:52
The Current 4:18
Petty Silver 4:04
The Banishing 4:36
Third From The Sun 6:40
Loreley 2:30
The Seventh Day 6:26
Upon Departure 3:10
The Black Pool 3:00

The Seventh Day / hackedepicciotto Video by Helio León from Danielle de Picciotto on Vimeo.

music and words: hackedepicciotto
{Danielle de Picciotto & Alexander Hacke}

Danielle: violin, autoharp, hurdy gurdy, vocals, spoken word, electronics
Alexander: bass guitar, percussion, throat singing, vocals, electronics

Vincent Signorelli: drums on “Onwards”

Kirsty Allison, Gil de Ray, John Robb: spoken word on “The Black Pool”

recorded by Alexander Hacke at Studio 65, Berlin and in Blackpool, UK

mix: Victor Van Vugt at Riverside, Berlin

mastering: Dog Young at Kennel Mastering, Berlin

photography: Danielle de Picciotto

artwork: minus design, Berlin